Making Bread

I make most of my own bread simply because I never seem to have a bread loaf in the house. I buy a couple of loaves when I am at the supermarket, but I will go to make packed lunches and use up the bread again. I am not able to go into a supermarket and come out with only the bread I went in for, but a basket full at the very least!

I have made bread for a little while now and find it no bother at all and though I can buy bread for a price that is probably cheaper than making bread, buying fresh bread would be more expensive.

Ingredients:

500g strong bread flour, I used 100g of wholemeal flour and 400g of white flour

2 teaspoons of fast action yeast

1 1/2 teaspoons of salt

2 tablespoons of olive oil

Warm water, I use 1/3 of boiled water to 2/3 of cold water – approx 400mls. This will vary so you may need more or less.

I use a free-standing mixer with a dough hook. Add all the ingredients except the water. Start to mix, I use speed 2 and add the water a little at a time. You are after a ball of dough, not sticky and not so firm that the mixer struggles to mix!

The mixer bowl is clean and the dough has formed a ball

The mixer bowl is clean and the dough has formed a ball

Mix for 10 mins, I set a timer while I do other things. Check on the dough I sometimes find it is a little too sticky so add more flour.

Ball of dough

Ball of dough

I use fast action yeast so it only needs to rise once. After 10 mins of kneading I put the dough into a metal loaf tin which I have put a little oil into. I turn the dough to cover in the oil to prevent it sticking to clingfilm and the tin. Cover with clingfilm and place somewhere warm to rise. For me, I use either a sunny windowsill or the airing cupboard. I use my timer again, the dough needs approx 35 mins to rise and I set my timer for 20 mins and then turn my oven on the heat to the maximum temperature, which takes 15 mins.

risen and ready to bake

risen and ready to bake

Once the dough has risen to approx double in size bake in the pre-heated oven for 30 mins at 200 C / gas mark 6.

There really is no effort, only time to making bread and for me using a timer ensures I don’t forget what I am doing! There are many different types of flour available and breads to make. Use olives, herbs or experiment with sweet breads. There is nothing like the smell of bread cooking or the taste of warm fresh out the oven bread with homemade soup.

Related articles

4 thoughts on “Making Bread

  1. Pingback: Making Bread When the Power is Out « Family Survival Protocol

  2. Pingback: Winter Warming Soup, Spiced Carrot & Lentil Soup | IQ WOMAN

  3. Pingback: Making Bread Version 2 for Economy | IQ WOMAN

Leave a Reply

