Holiday Fir Tin Cake

This is a cake I have admired for a few years now! This year I am very lucky that Santa has paid me an extra early visit and brought me this special ‘Holiday Tree‘ bundt tin. I did feel the need to try this before Christmas not being convinced it would come out of the tin!

I have used a recipe from a book I particularly like – Nigella Christmas and quoted by Nigella ‘This is a sleight of hand, or a trick of equipment rather than an act of brilliance.’

The Recipe:

225g soft butter, plus more for greasing the tin (though I used ample flavourless oil)

300g caster sugar

6 eggs

350g s.r.flour

250ml plain fat-free yogurt

4 teaspoons vanilla extract

icing sugar for dusting

Method

Pre heat the oven, I always pre heat my oven to the maximum temperature and then lower to the required temperature when I put the cake in. 180 C/ gas mark 4.

Grease the cake tin.

I put all the ingredients (except the icing sugar) in a food processor and whizzed.

pour into the greased tin and spread evenly

pour into the greased tin and spread evenly

Place the tin onto a pre heated baking sheet and cook for 45-60 mins until well rised and golden. After 45 mins test with a skewer, push into the middle and if it comes out clean the cake is cooked. Remove fro the oven and leave for 15 mins in the tin.

just out of the oven

just out of the oven

Gently pull away from the sides of the tin with your fingers and then turn out gently.2012-12-01 17.54.15

Dust with a little icing sugar

I couldn’t have been happier with the results and it tastes good too!

Perfect!

Leave a Reply

