Panettone

Panettone is an Italian Christmas bread and we have had it for breakfast on Christmas morning in the past. I am often unsure as to whether I should buy a Panettone as we have so many cakes and other food for Christmas.

I have never made a Panettone so thought I would give it a go! This is the recipe I used:

  • 1 tablespoon dried active baking yeast
  • 225ml (7½ fl oz) warm water (45 C)
  • 4 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 125ml (4 fl oz) low fat natural yoghurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 450g (1 lb) plain flour
  • 40g (1½ oz) or a handful currants
  • 40g (1½oz) or a handful sultanas
  • 1 tablespoon icing sugar
  • melted butter (to brush, optional)

In a medium-sized bowl add the water, sugar and yeast, mix and leave in a warm place until foamy (approx 10-15 mins)

Add the eggs, vanilla, yogurt, lemon and salt and mix well. Stir in the flour a little at a time until it forms a ball. I used plain flour, not strong bread flour and found I needed to add more than the 450 grams in the recipe. I also used a free-standing mixer with a dough hook to knead for 10 mins, the dough shouldn’t be sticky.

Cover the bowl with clingfilm and put in a warm place to rise (I use the airing cupboard) until the dough has doubled in size (approx 1 hr)

Grease a tin, I used a loosed bottomed 18cm tin cake tin.

Turn the dough onto a floured surface, mix the dried fruit with the icing sugar and knead into the dough by hand until evenly dispersed.

Make the dough into a ball and place in the greased tin. Brush with melted butter if desired, cover and leave in a warm place to rise again (approx 30mins). I preheat my oven to the maximum temperature and then turn down to the correct temperature, 180 C / gas mark 4. bake for 45 mins or until golden brown.

bake until golden brown

ready to eat

I was pleased with the way the Panettone turned out, I think a little more generous handfuls of dried fruit would be better! This will be on the Christmas day menu.

9 thoughts on “Panettone

  1. Pingback: Chelsea Buns – Christmas style! | James's Recipes

  2. Pingback: Making Bread | IQ WOMAN

  3. Pingback: What Is Panettone ? « jovinacooksitalian

  4. Pingback: Home-made Panettone with Figs and White Wine | Silvia's Cucina

Leave a Reply

